NETC Library Policies: Journal Article Request Policy

Many articles, from both the NETC Library Catalog and Periodical Index and our subscription databases, are available full text online.
For articles that are not freely available online, the NETC Library will provide students with the full text of the article under the following guiding policies:

• The NETC Library provides students with articles needed for NFA and EMI course-related research only.  Articles may only be used for the student’s own personal study or research.
• Any student in any course who is on campus may visit the library and use its collections for personal study.
• Students who are not on campus and/or need articles that are not in the library’s collections may make a journal article request. Journal articles by request are provided to students currently enrolled in an NFA or EMI program or course. If you are enrolled in a single course, your eligibility for articles runs from 30 days before course start date to 30 days after course end date.
• Students who are on campus or who will be on campus soon are expected to do their own photocopying and scanning when they are here. Library staff time for photocopying and scanning is limited.  Free photocopying and scanning are available in the library.  
• Articles will be obtained using the best method as determined by library staff.  Available methods include in-house scanning, circulating hard copy, purchasing from a document delivery service, requesting from another library, and using databases.
• Timeframes will vary from same day to three weeks.  Please let us know if your request is a rush.
• Library staff will provide up to five (5) articles per student per month.  Requests exceeding five (5) articles per student per month may be accommodated at the discretion of the Library Project Manager as staff time allows.
• Article requests must be compliant with U.S. Copyright law. See Copyright notice at right.

Complete the Journal Article Request Form.

Please include as much information about the article as possible and include a link to the source of the information when available.

Need help?

• Email: FEMA-NETCLibrary@fema.dhs.gov
• Phone: 301-447-1030  | 800-638-1821
• Students: schedule a research consultation
• Visit in-person: NETC Library is open to NETC staff and on-campus students during open hours.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.”

If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

The library reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.