Other Frequently Requested Research Topics

This page lists a wide variety of significant fire service reference texts, such as encyclopedias, handbooks, codes and guidebooks available in both print and online formats. These materials can also point you to other sources of information for your research topic.

• Open access benchmarking by International City/County Management Association (2013-current)
• Fire and EMS in "Comparative performance measurement" (See Chapter 5. Fire and Emergency Medical Services (EMS).)
• Fire salaries by International City/County Management Association (1987-2003)
• Fire in the United States by U.S. Fire Administration (USFA)/National Fire Data Center
• Material safety data sheets
• The municipal year book by ICMA. Information on fire departments by population, personnel, salaries etc.
• National run survey (fire service statistics) in "Firehouse"
• National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) reports and statistics
• Statistics in "Topical Fire Report Series" by USFA

• Firefighter fatalities in the U.S.
• Fire loss in the U.S.
• Large-loss fires in the U.S.
• The total cost of fire in the U.S.
• U.S. fire department profile
• U.S. firefighter injuries
• Other NFPA reports and statistics

• Dictionary of fire protection engineering
• Encyclopedia of fire protection
• Encyclopedia of natural hazards
• Encyclopedia of terrorism (print and e-book)
• NFPA's illustrated dictionary of fire protection terms
• NFPA's illustrated dictionary of fire service terms
• UXL Encyclopedia of weather and natural disasters

• Emergency response guidebook: a guidebook for first responders during the initial phase of a dangerous goods/hazardous materials transportation incident
• Fire and rescue field guide
• Fire officer field guide
• Fire officer's handbook of tactics (study guide, CD-ROM and videodisc)
• Fire protection handbook by NFPA
• Fire safety management handbook

• FIRESCOPE resources: publications of the organization of Firefighting Resources of California Organized for Potential Emergencies
• Guide to NFPA standards and NFPA journal buyers' guide
• Illustrated guide to the National Electrical Code
• National Association of Fire Equipment Distributors (NAFED) products and services buyer's guide
• National Incident Management System (NIMS): incident command system field guide
• Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE) handbook of fire protection engineering

• National fire code by NFPA
• International Building Code
• International Fire Code

• NFPA 1 Fire Code
• NFPA 13 Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems
• NFPA 25 Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems
• NFPA 54 National Fuel Gas Code
• NFPA 58 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code
• NFPA 70 National Electrical Code

• NFPA 70E Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace
• NFPA 72 National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code
• NFPA 99 Health Care Facilities Code
• NFPA 101 Life Safety Code
• NFPA 921 Guide for Fire and Explosion Investigations
• NFPA 1033 Standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator

• Chief fire officer's desk reference
• Encyclopedia of management theory
• Encyclopedia of crisis management
• The fire chief's handbook and study guide
• Fire marshal's handbook
• Managing fire and emergency services
• National directory of fire chiefs and EMS administrators

• Courtroom testimony for emergency responders
• Fire investigator: principles and practices to NFPA 921 and 1033
• Fire investigator field guide
• A guide for explosion and bombing scene investigation
• Ignition handbook: principles and applications to fire safety engineering, fire investigation, risk management and forensic science
• The investigation of motor vehicle fires

• The investigation of natural gas related fires and explosions
• Kirk's fire investigation
• NFPA 921: guide for fire and explosion investigations
• Practical bomb scene investigation
• Safety and health guidelines for fire and explosion investigators

• Hazardous chemicals desk reference
• Emergency response guidebook (USDOT)
• Hazardous materials for fire and explosion investigators: guidelines and procedures
• HazMat data: for first response, transportation, storage and security

• Brannigan's building construction for the fire service
• Forensic fire scene reconstruction